January 23, 2019


National Explanation Videos:

Torrance Unified Video



National Explanation Videos:

Torrance Unified Video


 School InfoCommon Core Standards     
 Common Core Standards
Hull staff are immersing themselves in the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) with the goal of preparing all students for college and career readiness.  The CCSS list academic skills students will be taught in the areas of English Language Arts (ELA) and Math.  Students will be tested on the CCSS in the Spring of 2015. 
Here are some Frequently Asked Questions:

What are learning standards? 
Learning standards describe the skills and knowledge all students need to know so they can be successful. But standards don’t tell teachers how or what to teach. That’s up to the teachers, schools and districts.

What are Common Core State Standards? 
Developed voluntarily and cooperatively by 48 states, two territories, and the District of Columbia, the Common Core State Standards offer schools, teachers, students and parents clear, understandable and consistent standards in math and English language arts. The Common Core standards define the knowledge and skills students need to be prepared for college and career opportunities. They are internationally competitive and evidence-based. Washington is one of more than 45 states to adopt the Common Core.

The standards replace California’s current math, Reading and Writing learning standards. They do not replace our state learning standards in other subjects.

What makes the standards unique is that they emphasize critical thinking and problem solving. The goal is to understand content rather than to memorize it.

Who developed the standards?
The Common Core standards were developed by the Council for Chief State School Officers and the National Governors Association. The two organizations convened a group to help write the standards. 

Who determines state learning standards?
Each state determines its own learning standards for each subject. In addition to adopting the Common Core for math and English language arts, California has learning standards in other content areas, known as Essential Academic Learning Requirements (EALRs) and/or Grade-Level Expectations (GLEs). Learning standards are revised every four to six years, with input from educators, parents and community members from around our state.

Why are common standards important?
Having a common set of math and English Language Arts standards across states will result in efficiencies for students, teachers and state budgets. For example, a student moving from one state to another should have a fairly seamless transition because the standards will be the same for both states. Teacher training programs and curricular materials can be developed using the common standards.

When will this happen?
California  adopted the Common Core State Standards on August 2, 2010. Since then, OSPI has been introducing the standards to teachers across the United States. They will be integrated into classrooms and will be assessed in the 2014–15 school year using the the Smarter Balanced computerized assessment system.

How will state testing change?
In the 2014–15 school year, the Smarter Balanced assessment system will measure how well students are learning the Common Core State Standards in math and English language arts. Results from the new tests can be used to show how students, schools and districts are performing. It will also allow states to be compared to each other using a standard tool. 

For more information:


Additioanl Resources:

 updated 02/18/15




 Hull Middle School 2080 W. 231 Street, Torrance, CA 90505   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement